July 25, 2011

Google+ deleting personal and business accounts

by Jan Harris

New social network Google+ is now deleting the accounts of people using nicknames rather than their real names.

At the moment Google+ users are required to give their real name as their primary name.

It is reported to be working with users whose accounts have been deleted, in order to put avatar-based names in the profile field that asks for other names.

This should allow frozen profiles to be restored.

The ‘real name’ policy has been adopted because Google wants the site to have a ‘positive tone’.

A few people who registered under a nickname have had their Google account suspended completely, leaving them without access to Gmail, Documents and Calendar.

Meanwhile the site is also busy deleted brand profiles, set up by over-eager companies.

Ford, Mashable and Sesame Street have seen their brands deleted from the consumer site.

After the site launched a couple of weeks ago, Google quickly asked businesses to hold-off registering until a business site was ready.

The brands that went ahead and created Google+ profiles now face the problem of serving the users that have already joined.

Google+ has gained 20 million users in less than 16 days, even though its business service is still being tested.

Google+ is advising businesses who have set up a profile using the regular service to find a representative to take over the profile as him-or-herself in order to represent the organisation.

Discuss this in the Internet Business forums

Story link: Google+ deleting personal and business accounts

 

Leave a Reply




 

Previous: «
Next: »

Visited 1999 times, 1 so far today

Tags:

Posted in: All News,Internet